Menu Close

Our Under-18 National Team secured third place in the Small Countries Association games held in Malta earlier this year. Summary of the U-18 SCA Championship for Women:

The U-18 SCA Championship for Women, hosted by the Malta Volleyball Association, witnessed a thrilling competition among Ireland, Northern Ireland, San Marino, Luxembourg, and the host team, Malta. Luxembourg, being the favorites, lived up to expectations, securing the gold medal with a dominating performance throughout the tournament.

The tournament showcased Malta’s development as a young team, putting up brave challenges against strong opponents. San Marino demonstrated their prowess and determination, earning the silver medal with composed displays on the court.

Despite having a young and inexperienced team, the host country, Malta, delivered an impressive performance. Overcoming initial “stage fright,” they showed great character and determination, securing an admirable third-place finish. The highlight of the team was the exceptional talent of their best spiker, Shania Camilleri, who displayed maturity beyond her age. Picking up the award for the tournament’s best outside hitter along the way.

The entire event was a celebration of youth volleyball talent, with all participants, including referees, coaches, and players, being recognized and honored during the awards ceremony. Congratulations to Luxembourg for their well-deserved gold, and a special commendation to Malta for achieving an outstanding result despite the odds!

Below some scenes from the action and the medal ceremony can be seen. The final standings were as follows:

San Marino9
Northern Ireland2
Some images of event

Apart from the medals presented to each podium-achieving association, individual awards were handed out to the best six players of the tournament. This list was as follows:

Best Setter: Tamie Boudot, Luxembourg

Best Outside Hitter: Shania Camilleri, Malta

Best Middle Blocker: Lou-Ann Fischbach, Luxembourg

Best Opposite: Alice Pedrelli, San Marino

Best Libero: Margerita Grossi, San Marino

Most Valuable Player: Lilly Tarantini, Luxembourg